December festivals

We are learning about December festivals. Our homework was to find out about what festivals are in December. We discovered there is more than just Christmas.

We read about Yule and discovered many of our Christmas traditions come from it.

We made Yule cats.

We read about Hanukkah and played dreidel.

We thought about what Christmas is.
Here are some of our thoughts.

Christmas is a celebration in December. Christmas is made up of other celebrations. Christmas is a time to spend time with family. We celebrate Christmas by giving presents to each other.
By Jack

We give presents and hang with your family and we have a feed. Merry Christmas! I don’t like Christmas because when I be naughty I don’t get presents.
By Afokoula

I like Christmas because we get presents and I want an Xbox and Lego. I told Santa I want Lego. Now I am good. If I be naughty I will get nothing.
By Tyson

If you be naughty then you will get an elf on the shelf. Then he or she will tell Santa and you will not get presents.
By Louhan

It is a celebration about Santa giving presents. I want Pokémon cards and a new ball and a drone. We eat lots of food. We go to my grandma’s house.
By Ivan

Christmas is a celebration in New Zealand. People get presents. People decorate trees.
By Ali

Christmas is a celebration. On Christmas we get presents, chocolate and lots of other good stuff.And it’s Jesus’ birthday. On Christmas we have fun. We get lots of yummy food that Santa gave us. In the presents we have an elf.
By Alexey

Christmas is Jesus’ birthday. I get presents for Christmas. On Christmas we call friends over to our house. We eat rice and roast duck. At the end I open my presents. I am going to get a Pokémon folder. In my family we have not put the tree up yet.
By Titus

Christmas is having presents and having fun with your family and eating food with your family and Christmas is god’s birthday.
By Dominic

Is it the birthday of Odin or Zeus, the gods of lightning, or is it something people made up?
By Arusha

Jesus’s birthday
Elves are a part.
Eggnog for Mom and Dad.
Eating food.
Family time.
Grinch
Chicken
You can decorate trees.
By Schalk

Christmas is Jesus’s birthday. It is also snow in the northern hemisphere. If you were bad you won’t get a gift. If you were good you will get a gift. And Christmas is a special festival in New Zealand and gives you candies.
By Darshan

Christmas is the day when Jesus was born and we put lights on the Christmas tree. The main colours are red and green. We celebrate it on December 25.
By Tamira

Christmas is Jesus’ birthday. It also has snow from the northern hemisphere. If you want to meet Santa, go to the northern hemisphere. You can get presents if you’re in the good list. Christmas is in December.
By Daniel S

Christmas is a festival in December 25th. If you’re nice, you could get a present. If you’re bad, you can’t get a present.
By Leon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *